Live Updates: Karnataka Election Results 2018


Updates: 17th MAY, 2018

  • B. S. Yeddyurappa sworn in as the 23rd Chief Minister of Karnataka
  • Congress and JD(S) MLAs stage protests outside the assembly
  • SC refuses to stay the swearing of Yeddyurappa, continues to hear plea

Updates: 16th MAY, 2018

  • Governor invites Yeddyurappa to form government
  • Congress and JD(S) MLAs protest, files petition in the Supreme Court against Governor’s decision
  • Yeddyurappa will be sworn in as the Karnataka CM on Thursday
  • The BJP government will be given 15 days to prove majority

Updates: 15th MAY, 2018

  • Karnataka Election Results of 222 out of 224 seats declared
  • BJP garners 46.4% seats, wins on 104 seats of 224
  • Congress trails second with 78 seats, 34.8% of 224
  • Janta Dal (S) gains 16.5% with 37 seats
  • Yeddyurappa meets Governor seeking two days to prove majority
  • CM Siddaramaiah resigns, Congress extends unconditional support to JD(S) to form Government
  • Karnataka Elections were held on the 12th of May, 2018

Karnataka Election Results: BJP Leads, Congress-JD(S) Join Hands

Modi wave has once again played the magic with Bhartiya Janata Party gaining a fair edge over other parties. BJP leads with 104 seats in its bag, capturing 46.4% of the total 224 seats in Karnataka’s constituency. This keeps the BJP trailing by just 9 seats from a clear majority to form government.

The ruling Indian National Congress suffered a serious setback with only 78 seats, accounting 34.8% of the total seats. Janata Dal (Secular) emerged victorious on 38 seats.

Vote Share

Like the last Karnataka Election results of 2013, the highest vote share remains with the Indian National Congress. 38% of voters have chosen to revote for the incumbent party. This is a slight increase from the 36.6% vote share of 2013. 36.2% of voters have opted to vest their trust in the BJP, almost double from the 19.9% they earned last elections. JD(S) saw a slight decrease in the share from 20.2% to 18.3%.

Interestingly, according to the result statistics, the BJP has gained significantly in areas that were marked by agrarian crisis. Out of 74 such seats, 33 were won by the BJP, 25 by Congress.

Janata Dal leads in areas that were under the Cauvery River dispute. Out of the 49, 27 were won by JD(S). The Lingayat stronghold of 120 seats were commanded by the BJP, winning a total of 64 seats. 41 were won by the Congress.

Janata Dal‘s loyal base, the Vokkaliga seats remained with the JD(S), winning 25 out of the 66. The Congress won 20.

Karnataka Election Results: 2013 & 2018

During the 2013 elections, Karnataka had the B.S Yeddyurappa led BJP government in power with 110 seats. Congress was on 80, while Janata Dal, 28.

In the subsequent elections, Karnataka saw a total voter turnout of 70.23%. INC under the leadership of Siddaramaiah, emerged the largest party, bagging 122 seats, JD(S) gained 40, while BJP was reduced to 40 of the 224.

2018 Karnataka Elections turned the tables upside down once again, with BJP gaining back with 104 seats. The ruling Siddaramaiah-led Congress lost a very significant number, and is now reduced only to 78. JD(S) remains neutral with a loss of three seats at 37.

Who will be the next Karnataka CM?

The Governor of Karnataka, Vajubhai. R Vala, ex-cabinet colleague of PM Modi in Gujarat, will be deciding who forms the government. The BJP led by BS Yeddyurappa has submitted a memorandum to the governor seeking a two-day period to prove majority.

BJP tried to enter a pact with JD(S) which was declined by the party supremo, HD Deve Gowda. The Congress, however, offered unconditional support to JD(S). The offer was accepted by JD(S) state president, H D Kumaraswamy. Later, Congress and JD(S) also met the governor and submitted their stake to form the government.

In the wake of all the high profile political drama, all eyes are set on who forms the government in Karnataka. Amid Congress’s allegations of backdoor poaching of MLAs, if the BJP is able to garner majority, BS Yeddyurappa will become the Chief Minister of Karnataka for the second time. If the Congress – JD(S) pact remains intact, H.D Kumaraswamy is set to become the Chief Minister.

See Also:
Facebook Comments


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here