• 55 Awardees skip the National Film Awards function
  • Only 11 received the award from President Kovind
  • I&B Minister Smriti Irani and MoS Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore gave away rest of the awards
  • President Kovind attends any award function or convocation only for an hour, says protocol

55 awardees skip the National Film Awards event claiming ‘breach of trust’. The boycott came as they learnt that President Ram Nath Kovind would give away the prestigious honor himself only to a select few out of 125 awardees. All the rest would receive the same from Information and Broadcasting Minister Smriti Irani and the Minister of State for it, Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore.

The protesting awardees alleged that they were informed about it only during Wednesday night rehearsals. The 3rd May event saw empty seats in the hall of Vigyan Bhavan where the ceremony was held.

In solidarity with the boycott, as many as 69 awardees including the ones who received the honor from the President, signed a letter addressed to the I&B ministry.

It feels like a breach of Trust when an institution/ceremony that abides by extreme protocol fails to inform us of such a vital aspect on the ceremony with a prior notice. It seems unfortunate that 65 years of tradition are being overturned in a jiffy.

Winners at the 65th National Film Awards

Among the winners of the 65th National Film Awards, Late actress Sridevi received the Best Actress award for her role in Mom.

Late actor Vinod Khanna was honored with Dadasaheb Phalke Award. The magnum opus Bahubali (Telugu) won three awards including that for Best Action Direction, Popular Film and Special Effects.

A.R Rahman won two awards in Best Music Direction (Songs) and the same in Background Score for Kaatru Veliyidai (Tamil) and Mom respectively.

Facebook Comments



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here